Plywood Shed Help!!

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by OSBAli, Sep 11, 2017.

1. OSBAli

OSBAli New Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie here, so please forgive me for any shortcomings. Also not a tradesmen but just one of lifes' great tryers!
    Desperate need of some help with a "man cave / gym" I am building. Doing this all pretty much myself with the help of a general labourer so appreciate some of the design decisions I have made are not the best but the ultimate driver is my budget.
    So basically I have built a 6x4 structure 3m high using 100mmx100mm fence posts (these are actually sitting in concrete in shoe in posts which are buried in concrete sunk into the ground) #
    The base is on concrete and raised off the garden floor. . All that is fine, the structure and roof is up, felt roof has gone on to provide some working shelter and I am at the point that I need to install some sort of siding. Looking at Shiplap/TNG it just throws my budget out no matter how aesthetically pleasing it makes the structure.
    So I am going with WBP plywood sheets to board up the sides to give it that "squatters den" look. I plan to possibly cover with bamboo or something to make it look better however that's the plan and doing this saves me about 500/600 quid.
    My desperate question is, being a newbie to this - what is the best way to seal adjoining boards. I haven't decided on horizontal or vertical but suppose doesn't matter so much as I am trying to cover the most area with as much board as possible. My main concern is around joining 2 of the boards. What is the best method - behind the boards I will have battons to attach to, and on the other side the inside of the shed will have OSB walls.
    So really the long winded question was, how to join up the boards to avoid water penetration?
    Would it be weather strip or Caulk/Silicone up the gaps?