Wiring An Induction Hob

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by HannahBanana, Sep 13, 2017.

1. HannahBanana

HannahBanana New Member

Hello!

I'm a recently qualified electrician, and I want to start with some simple wiring, but I wanted to know before I get started - is it any different wiring an electric hob and an induction hob?

Also, is it complicated?

2. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Its very complicated Hannah - best left to a competent diyer with instruments for testing tbqh.

3. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

An induction hob is an electric hob, just has an increased power rating (normally)

4. HannahBanana

HannahBanana New Member

Ah ok so it's the same wiring as an electric hob, but slightly more complex is that right?

5. Rulland

Rulland Screwfix Select

Still uses live, neutral and earth, just that the supplying cables are larger for the increased load.

6. HannahBanana

HannahBanana New Member

Ah brilliant thanks!

7. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Depending on rating of hob, may well
    come fitted with a 5 core flex

Has 2 live cores and 2 nuetrals, with the two ends crimped together with ferrules (leaving 1 earth) Connections are 'same as' (taking everything else into consideration of course) ??

That's what my Neff has anyway :)

8. Areid

Areid New Member

I would have thought if you were a qualified electrician you would surely know this?

Doall likes this.
  9. oddbod2

oddbod2 Member

TBH the question is pretty basic Hannah, so basic that i really doubt you're an electrician. As others have said the wiring is the same, but the supply cable may or may not be adequate. You are talking reasonably chunky currents here. Is it really worth diy'ing it when it's - hopefully - a quick job for a pro. (And if its not a quick job that'll be for a reason you'll want to sort out)

10. Mblack

Mblack Member

Some of the Neff ones now come with a 13 amp plug top.

11. leesparkykent

leesparkykent Well-Known Member

Maybe a 5 week wonder...