1 bed flat, no gas, under sink water heaters to replace immersion tank?

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by kingthefoot, Apr 1, 2016.

1. kingthefoot

kingthefoot New Member

I own a1 Bed flat runs on eco 7, storage heaters, with a shower that heats water instantly. theres no room to really put a bath in so thats not an issue.
    So It makes sense to fit a small instant tank (like an under sink type thing) in the kitchen, and one in the bathroom.
    id like to put the one in the bathroom in the loft though directly above the basin, (just how important is it to Actually put it under the sink) as this is where the electrics are, and it will be well out of sight. so just how close does the tank need to be to the sink?

I also wondered if this is becoming a common procedure. one or two people living alone really do not need a full immersion tank being heated up all the time wasting electric and heated water. it seems logical but i am no expert in diy =]

thanks in advance

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

The ones I have worked with, Quookers, have all had short outlet pipes and were under the sink. You have obviously need to run water to them and have a drain for the overheat safety valve as well as power.
    They aren't cheap but you can throw your kettle away.

3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Think the OP is thinking more along the lines of the Ariston water heaters (other brands available) - not so much an "instant kettle"

http://www.screwfix.com/p/ariston-andris-lux-europrisma-3kw-15ltr-undersink-water-heater/2371g

Seems he's looking at a way of providing instant hot water for washing up in kitchen and also for a quick hands and face scrub up in the bathroom

I fitted the above model myself with a mate but this was in a small workshop, along with some great advice from this site
    Cant give any advice re suitability but then again, this is what these heaters are designed for so cant see why not