17th edition on new consumer unit compliance. All RCBO's for best?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by gusmagoo, Jan 26, 2015.

1. gusmagoo

gusmagoo New Member

Hi all, the question speaks for itself.
    I'm not an electrician (I'm a firefighter) so I undertand why fire resistant or metal units are soon to be law but I'm a bit confused as to what type to buy for my guy to fit.
    There is clearly a lot of debate on the net about split units vs all RCBO's but what is the best for future proofing, safety and compliance with the regs? Putting cost aside, are all RCBO units the best practice for a new/replacement install, or are there certain times when a circuit should NOT be on an RCBO. Great forum btw.

2. nigel willson

nigel willson Screwfix Select

RCBO defo best practice and fully 17th edition compliant, however there are occassions when not suitable, ie RCD at a more distant location , ie external garage.An electrician would be the one to decide when this was the case. regards nigel.

3. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

I am an advocate of all-RCBO consumer units simply because it guarantees compliance with the Regs. with regards to minimizing inconvenience in the event of a fault. There is never any guarantee of future proofing anything, so I would disregard that from the equation. In essence it will come down to cost and what you are willing to pay. An all RCBO CU is the best solution, but also the costliest. Dual RCD units are fully compliant in respect of 30mA RCD protection, but do not, in my opinion, satisfy minimizing inconvenience in the event of a fault. There is probably one case where you may consider an RCD is best avoided and that is a fridge/freezer circuit. If you can see your way to having a dedicated socket for that you are best leaving the RCD protection off.

FatHands likes this.
  4. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

A high integrity db would be worth considering

5. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select