2-way stairwell lighting.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Ratters75, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Ratters75

Ratters75 New Member

Hi all, newbie here.

I'd appreciate some help please, recently I've decorated my downstairs and stairwell and landing and decided to replace all the light switches, unfortunately after doing this (and not checking how it was originally wired in) I've noticed the following issue with the stairwell 2-way lighting.
    The upstairs switch has twin+e from the light, also in the box there is a 3 core+e which I know should run down to the bottom switch to enable the 2-way switching, unfortunately and completely baffling to me is that in the downstairs switch there is only a twin+e, this doesn't make any sense and for the life of me I cannot understand how it would've been possible to get the 2-way switching to work like this.
    The 3-core upstairs has your standard grey colouring insulation but the 2-core downstairs is white, they must both go off to a JB somewhere but that doesn't explain why there is still no common to join the 2 switches up.
    The 2-way switching always used to work but now I can only get the switches working 1-way.

Help please.

2. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

What else is in the downstairs switch? Hallway light? A live was likely robbed from there.

[​IMG]

3. Ratters75

Ratters75 New Member

Just the twin+e, that's it. It's a 1 gang switch just for the landing light.

4. Sparkielev

Sparkielev Screwfix Select

Can you post pic of both light switches

5. Ratters75

Ratters75 New Member

I will do but it'll have to be in the morning.

6. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select