3/4 BSP radiator / what trv?

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by SuperJohn, Sep 10, 2017.

1. SuperJohn

SuperJohn New Member

I've removed a couple of radiators, and they are 3/4inch BSP fittings; I know this is correct as that's the blanking caps I used.

I want to replace the valves when I refit them, and the thought it sensible to use trv's. I thought they came with suitable tails (think that's the correct term) but the ones I've picked up from screwfix don't. I'm now struggling to find ones that specify that they can be used with 3/4 BSP radiator's that aren't really really expensive. Have I got any other options, some kind of adapers that won't mess up the valve spacing or something?

Be gentle with me, I'm a total plumbing newbie!

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

I'm not a plumber although I dabble. I think you need one of these as I bought one years ago from merchants. I never new screwfix stocked them. Click Here

BUSH ¾ X ½ adapter

3. Are you sure the tails are not 1/2" when you say you have used 3/4" caps.
    A lot of valves join together using 3/4" male and female fittings.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2017
  4. nigel willson

nigel willson Screwfix Select

As above . That rads not 3/4 it's the tail screwed into it! Fit try , you fit the tail supplied with it

5. SuperJohn

SuperJohn New Member

Deleted member 11267 - I'm probably not using the correct terminology, but the big captive nut thingies on the radiators are expecting a 3/4 inch thread to screw onto, which the current (very painty and a but leaky :) ) valves have. The TRV's appear to have what I am referring to as 'tails', but they appear to be a 1/2 inch thread (I think), but either waym they are way to small.

Wayners - that bush thingie looks ideal. In fact when I did the rads in another room, the bog standard valves I used their to replace the old ones came with something like that I think that allowed them to fit, but I could be mis-remembering.

6. SuperJohn