Acceptable length for dead legs

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by ajmoore, Feb 8, 2004.

1. ajmoore

ajmoore New Member

Hello everyone this is my first post as i am new to this. I am about to install a Worcester oil combi boiler(heatslave i think) into my house. The problem i have is that the house(old barn) is narrow but long. The kitchen is at one end and the bath room at the other. I plan to site the boiler as close to the middle as possible but this still leaves a dead leg of approx 11m to the bathroom. The combi has got a 22mm hot water out pipe, i was going to put 22mm in to where it Ts to the kitchen and bathroom then run in 15 to the bathroom and kithchen. Will this be ok? The output of the boiler is 22l min, it is the biggest they do.

Any help is much appreciated as i dont want to wait hours to get hot water.

Thanks

AM

2. bilco

bilco New Member

That sounds ok...
    There will be some time lag before hot water flows and so not too economical for short draw offs.

3. hillheader

hillheader New Member

I had a similar problem (old long barn), but a longer cold leg. In order to avoid the time lag for the hot water to arrive I installed a return loop back to the HW tank cold from very close to the HW taps. This is quite common. The return loop is 15mm and has a small pump and check v/v. The pump is turned on when the light to the bathroom goes on. If you turn on the light and then the tap, you get cold water, but if you relieve yourself first, the water is hot by the time you wash your hands! You can also put a timer on the pump instead.

4. MASTER PLUMBER

MASTER PLUMBER New Member

Ajmoore
    I have written out below the recommended maximum length of dead leg for the various diameters of pipe you may use.

The design guide states that the length of hot water draw off pipework to taps and other outlets should be kept ot a minimum to avoid the undue waste of water. Where there