Adding Plug Sockets in a Wimpey No Fines Property

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by tempest501, May 8, 2015.

1. tempest501

tempest501 New Member

Me and my wife just bought a wimpey no fines house and today we realised that in our kitchen there are not really any plug sockets where the kitchen units are.

I am not really good at this sort of thing and wondered if someone can advise on what its likely to cost to add some extra sockets or move the existing one round. It would be on the outside wall of our kitchen. I wondered if the fact the outside wall are concret would have any implications etc.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

2. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

If you are looking to have cables hidden and not in trunking the only solution is to cut away a chase in the wall, using an angle grinder or breaker, It would be best to place cables in conduit - there will be dust.

Unless you are doing a complete kitchen refurb, the walls could be boarded out.

Does the house have a brick exterior skin installed at a later date?

I have just done some work in a similar house and it took over 2 hours just to core a 40mm hole. Drilling is a nightmare as the drill bit deflects and ends up somewhere else.

3. tempest501

tempest501 New Member

From what I can tell it is not a brick exterior skin, it is rendered in a bebble dash material. We are planning on getting a new kitchen but cant quite afford it for a year maybe 2. Would it be best to wait? When you get a new kitchen installed do the guys fitting it do the plugs as well (for a price of course)? Sorry if a dumb question but I have no idea at all with this stuff so would be getting people to do it.

Difficult for us to try and decide what to do because where the plugs are situated currently we can not really use the work surfaces.

4. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select