Asbestos Cement Garage Roof Leaking

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by drshaw007, Feb 13, 2006.

1. drshaw007

drshaw007 New Member

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a newbie so please be gentle.

I have a corrugated asbestos cement garage roof which is leaking over a large area. From the inside it looks as if water is soaking straight through the cement and dripping in lots of places rather than from a seam/joint etc...

The area where this appears to be happening has a large amount of moss on the top. Does anybody know if the moss is a result of the cement retaining the rainwater, or is the moss retaining water against the roof and thus causing the leak?

I'd rather not replace the roof as I have little money or time. If it is not just the moss and the roof itself needs repair, does anybody have any suggestions to waterproof the roof? Would paint work?

Thanks for your time.

Dave
  2. wardoss

wardoss New Member

I had this problem on a shed roof of mine. The moss has just built up over time. The sheet have likely just become porous and brittle due to age. However there is a solution. Watco and Jewsons do a roof repair compound, they are a very thick liquid with fibres in which you paint on. It covers the whole roof and prevents leaks.
  3. drshaw007

drshaw007 New Member

Thanks Wardoss,

I thought it was was probably the roof that was the problem, but was hoping it was the moss. I'll have a look for that roof compound.

Dave
  4. wardoss

wardoss New Member

No problem, just found the product on the Watco website

http://www.watco.co.uk/asp/autopage.asp?Group=&stkGroup=ROOF

Not cheap, but cheaper than replacing the roof.

I seem to recall the one Jewsons stock is acrypol, but not all branches stock it, if you let me know where you are I might be able to organise some for you.
  5. The Dormouse

The Dormouse New Member