Bathroom Extractor Fan - Duct Sizing Problem

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Steve Nolan, Jan 19, 2015.

1. Steve Nolan

Steve Nolan New Member

Hi everyone - First time poster - I'd appreciate some advice.

I'm a recently qualified electrician (about 14 months or so). I've been asked to install extractor fans in a number of bathrooms in an old hotel. The wiring isn't an issue for me - I'm confident with this. My issue is with the ducting. The old broken fans appear to fit into existing ducting pipes of approx. 165mm in diameter. Most new Extractor fans (such as Manrose or Expelair models) have 100mm spigots.

Now. I've ordered a ducting reducer from 150mm to 100mm. What I expected was that there would be some 'give' in this to allow the 100mm radial to snugly fit over the typical 100mm fan spigot, but of course it doesn't. It's EXACTLY the same size, hard plastic, so won't fit. Not having worked with existing ducting before, can anyone advise me how to get around this issue please?

I have gound some fans that have 99mm spigots, but I doubt this one mil difference will allow me to fit the ducting over them either.

I'm basically looking for a solution to a problem I've not come across before - All advice would be extremely welcome.

Thanks

Steve

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

This is only a guess Steve as I've never needed to try it but how about the plastic sleeve that's used to join 2 sections of 100mm drainage pipes together?
    Welcome to the forum btw.

3. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

I would recommend that you get yourself a pack of 100 mm dia. insulated flexible ducting that should allow you to insert the 100 mm spigot on the fan in to the 165 mm duct, using the extra width of the insulation to pack the space around the spigot inside the duct. Denmans do a 10m pack for around £40 incl VAT. Cut lengths of it, say 300 mm, and push them over the fan spigot and then slide it in to the duct.

4. Steve Nolan

Steve Nolan New Member