Bathroom Extractor Fan

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by James6388, Oct 30, 2014.

1. James6388

James6388 New Member

Hi

I am a complete novice at any trades and do not have any knowledge of carrying out jobs.

Just purchased first house and currently doing up bathroom. Plumber has been in and fitted bath, shower tray etc.

I have got a new extractor fan http://m.screwfix.com/p/vent-axia-100b-w-silent-axial-bathroom-extractor-fan/29887

There is a switch on the wall in the bathroom for the old one. The plumber we have had out has said it needs to stay. I was hoping for the fan to come on when the pull cord for shower is pulled, not needing a manual switch.

Ive read that there needs to be an isolator for a fan for maintanence? But having windows you dont need one? There are 2 in bathroom. Its just that I dont really want an ugly socket in new bathroom!

Have a friend electrician coming on friday to look and also look at a wire the plumber has cut but left in wall that was for a shaving light, no idea if it is still live or not!

Thanks for any feedback.

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Don't do anything until your electrician mate has had a look!

3. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select

Opening windows mean no fan required, but windows which don't open means you can't use just the light switch, no windows then can be switched with just light switch. So as said best let electrician look first. I think it's either Part L or Part F which covers fans. Any open flue fires can also change requirements.

FatHands likes this.
  4. FatHands

FatHands Well-Known Member

Hi MGW,
    Its Part F mate. I always remember it being "F for fan". :)

MGW likes this.
  5. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select