Becoming a carpenter/joiner.

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by tomba26, Nov 1, 2006.

1. tomba26

tomba26 New Member

Hi all, my first post and looking for a little advice.
    Basically I would love to re-train and become a qualified joiner but I am now aged 31. I was a dairy farmer up until a few years ago and got out as the industry was going downhill. Over the last 4 or 5 years I have bought a few small houses and renovated them and then generally leased to tenants. I have found that I have thoroughly enjoyed the joinery side of things although my knowledge is somewhat limited although I am proficient with tools and come from a hands on background.
    Can anybody advice me to the possibilities?
    I know that I would be looking at a 3 year NVQ qualification in joinery but it seems they all require work placements, which I would love to have. Would joiners/carpenters in the trade be likely to look at a keen 31 year old?
    If it makes any difference I live in the North West/Lancashire area.
    Thanks.

2. ShabbaPlanks

ShabbaPlanks Member

Most colleges run an equivilent to the NVQ. At the moment it is called the Foundation construction award Carpenty. This course mirrors the NVQ with site work being simulated in the workshop on rigs and such. You can, should you find an employer then transfer all your work to date too an NVQ.
    Most full time college courses only come to 16hrs a week, this would leave you time to earn and find an employer placemant. Or choose your carear path with a little more knowledge.
    The foundation course is followed by an intermediate course equivilent to an NVQ II. Most courses have a bias towards site work. Specific joinery courses are harder to find.
    Chances of finding a placement are small. There is very little incentive for employers to take you on as oppossed to a teenager. In your first year you will learn much that will enable you to confidently take on your own jobs.