Belle Maximix 140 Petrol Engine Cement Upright Mixer wont start

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Big Bad Adam from Scotland, Feb 21, 2017.

1. :(Can anyone please guide me on starting this, as im new to this machine?

Basically bought it last autum to do a few slabs then sell it on, the man quickly showed me it working, starting up, but its been outside covered in a tarrapin cover, but ive tried all the dials etc, added petrol oil is okay etc etc

But ity wont start?

any help is very much apprecitaed really need to get me slabs down

adam :oops:

Belle Maximix 140 Petrol Engine Cement Upright Mixer wont start Briggs and Stratton 3 HP Motor
    my video is here

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Not even firing, pull engine over, check for spark plug for condition, might be worn, heck gap, while pulling over to start, you should have a nice spark,
    Is fuel actually getting through to engine.

B&S engine can be a bugger to start,got one on mower, prefer Honda or Loncin G120 engine.

And no need with bold & size of font.:D

Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
  3. Doall

Doall Active Member

Are you using the choke and fresh fuel as fuel will go stale after sitting fir a period of time. I'd also get a new spark plug and whilst of check it is sparking

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

If you flood the engine the spark plug will be wet with fuel.

You also might have some water in the carb,petrol tank, with cold weather you can get condensation forming inside the metal fuel tank & carb float bowl.

5. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

6. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

7. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

8. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

9. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

10. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

That B&S 3HP hasn't changed much in 30 years,or so,still can get spares I think, has been superceded now, but so easy to work on, but a bugger to start when left for a long time.