Bubbling Matt Emulsion Paint - please help!

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by leebs, Feb 6, 2017.

1. leebs

leebs New Member

Hello Screwfix Community,

I am new to this, so hello to one and all.

If anybody can please offer some advice I would be most grateful.

Here is my situation;

I am decorating my bedroom, which hasn't been decorated for about 12 years or so. In the beginning the walls were freshly plastered and then once properly dry an aubergine matt emulsion was painted on three them and an off white on one of them.

My other half and I wanted to go for something totally different colour, and decided on a deep red. We bought numerous tester posts from Homebase; Homebase own brand, Crown and Dulux.

On the recommendation of the paint man at Homebase I bought some matt Johnstones paint to paint the entire room matt white as a base before painting the colour on it.

I washed the walls and other paint work with a white vingar solution before applying any paint.

I painted a couple of small areas with two coats of the white to apply some testers and all was good, no bubbles. I allowed it to dry properly then put on the testers, again no bubbles and then decided on the colour we liked, which ended up being the Homebase Showstopper red.

I painted the entire room matt white including the ceiling, and it went on okay without any bubbles, except I was having some drying issues around the ceiling edge of the room which goes against the house next-door, outside wall and the double glazed window, perhaps this was because it has been so cold of late. I also do not have cavity wall insulation and live in a terrace, the house next door that is next to my bedroom is currently vacant. I kept the radiator on and put in a portable heater to warm the room further. The paint dried after a day, which was a bit rubbish, but it dried.