Can you recommend a dovetail jig and router?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by How?, Mar 6, 2008.

1. How?

How? New Member

Hi,

I have been given some nice white oak to make a book case with.

Given that I am an amateur, can anyone recommend a jig and router, or other way of making good dovetail joints?

Many thanks.

2. kaintheo

kaintheo New Member

Trend jigs and De-Walt quarter inch router

3. How?

How? New Member

Thanks,

Can you suggest a model, (not expensive), and where is a good place to buy from?

Ta.

4. jasonb

jasonb New Member

Or if you can spend a bit more then a Leigh jig and 1/2" dewalt router, thats what I use. The ability to adjust the spacing is a big advantage for things like this

Jason

5. How?

How? New Member

Very helpful!

Can anyone suggest a reasnable set of kit for dovetails?

How?

6. mailee

mailee New Member

If you are on a budget and don't mind through dovetails. I use a De Walt 1/4" router and the Dakota jig from Rutlands power tools. It is around £40 and comes complete with two cutters for the pins and tails. It is very accurate very easy to set up and fool proof. It consits of a alloy plate laser cut with pins and tails and all you have to do is add an MDF upright to hold the timber at right angles to it. clamp it to the bench, set the depth and rout the tails. change bit repeat, and cut the pins, easy. I also have a blind dovetail jig but this takes almost half an hour to set up and will only cut blind dovetails. Best on the market is of course the Leigh Jig but at a price. HTH. ;)

7. joiner_sim

joiner_sim New Member

Trend Jig & Ryobi Router

8. murrmac

murrmac Member

if you are building a bookcase, forget about dovetails, and learn how to make mortises and wedged tenons.

dovetails have no place in furniture except in drawers.

9. How?

How? New Member

Ta for all the replies.

Is ther a single tool for making Tennon and Mortice joints, and for dovetails?