Casting a lintel, what mix to use?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by windy, Jun 12, 2015.

1. windy

windy New Member

Hello all. This is my first post on here so please take it easy on me.

I'm soon to be casting a 215x100 lintel to span underneath some bifold doors in a conservatory & wondered what sort of mix would be best. There will be a few steel rods in there so wondering if normal ballast is a bit on the chunky side? Is it better to use just use a cement/sharp sand mix, or maybe cement/sharp sand/gravel?

2. PaulBlackpool

PaulBlackpool Screwfix Select

I am just an amateur but I understand that lintels support brickwork or masonry above windows or doors. A concrete block underneath a door I think is called a step or threshold but I might be wrong. If there are bricks below it I would cast it in situ and I would not bother with any reinforcing as the bricks below will support it. If you want to include some reinforcement I would say three rods would be enough. Normal concrete should be OK . I usually use 20mm stones , sand and cement (2, 2, 1) If you make strong formwork with say 18mm plywood with support behind the stones will just disappear into the mix. Tamp it well down into the formwork to get rid of any voids.
    Trowel it smooth on the exposed top face.
    Leave it a day or two before you remove the formwork to be on the safe side.
    Depending on the width you might find a stone threshold /lintel? in a reclamation yard.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2015
  3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Just buy one and fit it in place.

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

I'll second that.

5. PaulBlackpool

215 X 100 x 2500 (pair of bi- fold doors ?) possibly. At my age I could not lift it. Possibly two young fit guys could.
    That is why I suggested casting it in situ.

6. windy

windy New Member

Thanks for the reply PaulBlackpool.