Controlling numerous shutters from 1 switch

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Matt-1, May 18, 2015.

1. Matt-1

Matt-1 Member

Afternoon all,

Currently working on a rewire of a commercial premises

We have a RFC for the window shutters, which include FCU's at each of the window roller shutters

Now the owners have decided they would like 1 switch under the counter to control all of the shutters from 1 switch, now the spark was on a different job today so I havnt had chance to ask him, but from what I hear he is planning on putting in a relay, then sending separate cables out to each of the 8 x shutters

Is there not a easier way of doing this ? and also could somebody please explain to me how this works ( im just a trainee )

Thanks very much

Matt

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

If it's just a case of switching on/off the power, depending on layout/cable runs etc. i'd probably consider feeding the RFC from the breaker in 4mm cable and putting in a DP switch so that the ring could be switched from there?

Matt-1 likes this.
  3. Matt-1

Matt-1 Member

Hi Seneca, thanks for your reply

To be honest your post is exactly what I was thinking could be done, but Im guessing they are wanting the switch to open and close the window security shutters from 1 switch under the trade counter

Now ill be honest, ive never worked with shutters before, and dont have any knowledge of how they work ?

If power is killed to the shutter would they go down ? If so then interrupting the circuit with a DP switch would work wouldnt it ? But im guessing thats not how they work

Im just trying to get an idea of how these are connected up and possible solutions instead of having to pull in over 200m of cable if there is another possible solution

The shutters are all single phase with no outside key control, and are supplied with 1.5mm 4 core flex

Thanks again

Matt

4. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select