Cooker/Hob Circuit

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Sabretooth, Aug 1, 2017.

1. Sabretooth

Sabretooth New Member

Hi peoples

i'm having a kitchen remodel and my current wiring is 10mm from consumer unit to the hob (3kw) and a seperate 10mm from cu to a ccu and then 10mm from ccu to cooker(8.7kw). both on seperate 32Amp circuits

The hob came with a plug but the fella who installed it changed the flex and plug to hardwire in 10mm.

what i want done is run a 10mm from CU to a cooker control unit then feed both hob and double oven from CCu in 6mm .. i know regs state a 32amp breaker can take upto 15amps .. another alternative is to put a 13amp socket back in place and reinstate the plug on the hob.

I am just a level 3 student and im asking advice here so i can tell my electrician who is going to install my kitchen electrics and sign it off a basic idea of what i want done. i know i should go with his professional opinion but if i don't then i'm looking for an alternative. (i plan on doing NO work to any curcuit myself.. as i'll be in cuba while its being done lol)

Let the newbie level 3 student bashing begin :)

2. Joey__

Joey__ Member

Ano
    ther alternative would be to get the mystery 'electrician mate' to answer your questions?
    Another alternative would be to just tell the truth and say you have no idea how to do the job..
    Ps don't bother messing about with electricity

3. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

..."regs state a 32A breaker can take up to 15A"...hmm.

Why 10mm for cooker?

4. Joey__

Joey__ Member

And he's level 3
    He's level 3???

5. Sabretooth

Sabretooth New Member