Cordless SDS ,

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Gasman89, Jul 1, 2017.

1. Gasman89

Gasman89 New Member

Hi i am a gas engineer froma service and repair background and am looking to getting into installs, i will need a sds drill and core drills , i would like some advice on what i should look out for when buying one, dont mind buying corded but looking at both options.

Is cordless sds drill powerful enough to core drill if so what should i be looking at from specs,

What wattage etc should i be looking at cordeded etc?

Just want buy something that is fit to do the job last thing i want is to but one and for it to burn out. Thank you hope to hear back from everyone

2. nigel willson

nigel willson Screwfix Select

Would go corded for coreing. Apart from anything else you don't want to be let down by a battery. Best to ave both. Backup!!!!
    I've never burnt out a drill, or anything else and I've been in trades for 30yrs +. It's called looking after kit and not overloading it!

3. Gasman89

Gasman89 New Member

What am i looking for from the drill when buying as in does need to be certain power

4. Gasman89

Gasman89 New Member

And also are cordless sds drill actually capable of drilling with a core

5. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

If you have to put through a 100mm,125mm, even 150mm core for a flue, then you need mains powered drill.

Even a Bosch 36v rotary hammer would struggle with a 125mm core drill.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
    Gasman89 likes this.
  6. Gasman89

Gasman89 New Member

Thanks kiab when i am buying what minimum specs are required to do the job? Etc wattage and rpm sorry know very little in regards to powertools

7. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Wattage means nothing, you could have 500w or 1000w, it's the torque you need at low speed for core drilling.

Take the Bosch GSB 162-2 RE it's designed for core drilling up to 162mm diameter, as it's main job.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
  8. KIAB

KIAB Super Member