CSCS card headache

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by APWcarpentry, Aug 22, 2014.

1. APWcarpentry

APWcarpentry New Member

Hi,

I've recently decided to make the move to self employment. However it seems to apply for many of the contracted site work I need a CSCS card.

I've been a carpenter/bench joiner for 15+ years and have a City and Guilds qualification in bench joinery. Well apparently this isn't good enough and I need an NVQ.

I'm the provider for my wife a 3 kids under 7 - there's no way I can afford to miss work (I'm still employed at the moment) to go back to college to get an NVQ. I'm also struggling to find courses that aren't for learners!

Are there any ways around this?!

Any Advice appreciated

2. joinerjohn1

joinerjohn1 Screwfix Select

C&G should be enough. CSCS card, you could go for the basic card which will get you on site,,, It won't list your qualifications though, but tell the gaffer what skills you have and he might just give you a chance

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

hi, i know what you mean, i have 16 City & Guilds in Civil Enginnering, I too have been told I need NVQs ( not very qualified:)) to do certain works, as for a CSCS card can you not get one through grandfather rights, I could, but then again I got my C&Gs through a CITB collage, so maybe that helps ??.

4. tom.plum

tom.plum Screwfix Select

I'm actually thinking of suing the people who are demanding we have cards, its affecting my livelehood and cost me a goodly amount of cash, its a volunteer program they've no rights to demand we have them, i'm making inquirys into it with every solicitor firm that phones me about , crash claims, deaf claims,ppi claims etc, I tell um to take this on and we'll clean up, no takers yet but soon a forward thinking solicitor will jump on this one,:)

APWcarpentry likes this.
  5. plumberboy

plumberboy Well-Known Member

Hi.