Cyclists

Discussion in 'Just Talk' started by Harry Stottle, Jun 7, 2017.

1. Harry Stottle

Harry Stottle Screwfix Select

I was driving along yesterday when I caught up with two cyclists riding two abreast, the road had double white lines down the centre and there was not enough room for me to pass without crossing the white lines, so I didn't. I thought they didn't realise I was there so I gave a polite toot, but they stayed two abreast and waved me past, I followed them for about a mile with traffic building up behind me. Highway code rule 129 states that to cross double whites in order to pass cyclists, they must be doing 10 mph or less, those boys were doing 15 mph and no wonder car and truck drivers dislike cyclists.

Don't mention tractor drivers to me, they are nearly always on the phone. I should report them really but I can't stand busybodies and I'm not one.

2. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

I have some sympathy with you Harry, as a driver I would also get a bit frustrated and as a cyclist I wouldn't condone cycling two a breast in this case. However, they are entitled to ride two a breast and have just as much right to the road as a driver. Same with a horse or anything else on the road - it might be inconvenient but that's life. It might also be the case that you'd need to cross the double white line if there was only one cyclist (giving the recommended 1.5m distance between you and said cyclist) so the fact they were riding two a breast might not be relevant.

If they were more than 2, say a group of 8, its often easier to pass if they're two a breast than riding single file.

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Annoying bar stewards they are and often deliberately hold you up in the case of double whites it is safer for them 2 a breast.

As for horses and tractors you are allowed to cross double white lines to overtake them, I feel this law should be for bikes As well after all tractors are often faster than cyclists.