DA Orbital Sander advice please

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by BillS, Jul 27, 2015.

1. BillS

BillS New Member

Hi all,
    I have very little experience here so please excuse my ignorance!
    I borrowed an orbital sander to do some work, it did the job great, problem is I stupidly hit the head a screw I missed and took a small chunk out the hard velcro pad which is attached to the sander.
    I want to replace this part out of respect to the lender but can't find one which obviously matches the sander. It has 8 holes in it for drawing dust and is made of a kind of foam covered with hook velcro. I dont know whether they are universal fit or not???
    It's a Mac Allister mos450c random orbit sander, 125mm backing pad. I'm attaching a picture.
    it has an allen key hole in the centre of the bottom of the pad, It doesnt turn easy and I don't want to damage it further.
    Many thanks for any advice!

Attached Files:

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

MacAllister is a B&Q own brand range of power tools.
    Could try MacAllister service 03330 143087, they might be able to help, tool has 3 year warrenty.

3. miss pickle

miss pickle Well-Known Member

Kiab!!!! Wait! don't gooooo! I want to know what happens when my guarantees run out :) is it best to replace the tool then? I'm worried I will have an accident and cause myself an injury when the tool is no longer covered.
    Sorry bill :D hope you don't mind.

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

I think you ought to start by reading in full, just what the guarantee covers and does not cover, before you make any frivilous decisions!

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

5. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

If you can get the part...it might be well on the way cost wise to a new sander! Could always buy ya mate a new one and keep that one. Btw, very admirable you're doing the right thing...

Gatt likes this.
  6. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Probably easiest to just buy a new one.

7. miss pickle