DAB radio backlit display.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by devil's advocate, Jan 2, 2007.

1. devil's advocate

devil's advocate New Member

Hello.

I have a Bush (I know, I know) DAB radio with a 3-line dot-matrix display which has 'lost' one of its blue back lights.

I understand these displays are fairly standard and are shared by many makes of DAB radio. Does anyone know if the blue lamp (LED?) is easily replacable, or is it built-in to the display panel itself?

I'm ok with soldering and stuff but would appreciate knowing if it's a goer before I start taking it apart.

Thanks.

2. GaGa

GaGa New Member

Hi Devil,
    I do't know the exact modle you speak of, but I design in these things for a living, so here goes....

It is very likely to be an LED backlight, but highly unlikely the LED has failed. They are generally very reliable. It's far more likely to be a dry joint on the LED itself, or in the power and GND rails for that particular LED or row of LEDs. I'd check that first. The LEDs are normally Surface Mounted Devices (SMD) embedded within the LED module, behind the glass of the display. The metal frame which holds the glass onto the PCB can be removed by bending lugs, undoing screws etc, allowing the whole assembly to be taken apart, exposing the PCB and LEDs. Unfortunately, in order to disperse the light, the LEDs are normally "potted" or embedded in a bed of semi-translucent silicon, which means that replacing them, involves ripping out the silicon from it's "bath", then replacing the offending LED. This is VERY difficult, and would need new silicon blobbing in there afterwards. The LCD module is not designed to be taken apart, and you may find it won't go back together again properly, personally, I'd get in touch with BUSH and see if you can get a new LCD module, you should be able to replace it into the radio fairly easily. Your blood presure and remaining hair will thank you for taking this route. Good luck with whatever you go for.