Deciding where to put work surface and cupboards on a kitchen wall

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Iron_Mike, Aug 12, 2017.

1. Iron_Mike

Iron_Mike Active Member

Hi

I am soon to be putting in a kitchen.

The kitchen is a big open plan kitchen, with the ceiling measuring 2.6m high.

I have got a design from Howdens.

They have the work surface starting 0.92m.

They have a gap of 0.46m between the work surface and the start of the cupboards. With the cupboards starting at 1.38m.

My concern is with the work surface starting what I feel to be relatively low, I will have a lot of dead space above the cupboards.

I am not a professional kitchen fitter and am relatively tall at 1.93m.

But with the cupboards starting at 1.38m, even with high cupboards, a lot of space is going to be wasted.

I thought it would be logical to have a higher work surface, say starting at 1.2m and a wider gap between the work surface and cupboards, say 0.8m.

I have attached a video of the wall, any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

IM

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Kitchen units 870mm plus 40mm worktop 910mm overall, wall units distance from worktop no set height, anywhere from 450mm to 600mm, wall units can be upto 910mm or so in height.

A lot depends on the height of the wall units & the height of the peep using them,no good having them high, if your only 5', I know someone who pulled a wall unit off the wall,due to it being too high & she lost her balance reaching into it & grab hold of the wall unit.:eek:
    Also if you have a larder unit, you would normally align the top of the wall unit with the top of the larder unit.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
    Iron_Mike likes this.
  3. Iron_Mike

Iron_Mike Active Member

Thanks KIAB

4. You are funny, Mike!

It's as KIAB says.

Have you actually been to a kitchen showroom? Have you walked up to a worktop, ran your fingers along the surface, caressed a sinktop or hob?

Man, you ain't lived.