Decking for "play house" Advice

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by AndyDOHD, Aug 7, 2014.

1. AndyDOHD

AndyDOHD New Member

HI,
    Newbie here. I wondered whether anyone could advise on building a platform for a kid's playhouse? I have an orchard and my kids want me to build a tree house so I decided to build a raised deck type of structure right beside an old apple tree to give the illusion of a tree house without having to damage the tree in any way - to build a kid's playhouse upon. The land is sloping so one end is 1/2m off the ground whilst, due to the slope, the opposite end is 2m off the ground.

I wondered whether anyone could advise which:
    (i) coach screws to use to hold the "floor joists" (the joist wood I have is 14cmx4cmx350cm;
    (ii) drill bit to use to drill into the joist for fixing to the perimeter boards of the structure?

Cheers in advance.
    Andy

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

I wouldn't use coach screws, I would bolt them through the uprights.

Not sure what you mean drill bit to use.?

3. AndyDOHD

AndyDOHD New Member

I've put up the perimeter of the structure using some coach screws (one each of M8x125mm and 1cm x 10cm).
    But for the joists I would need to use a couple of long coach screws (you can't add a nut to the end of the bolt if it's inside the joist), to pre-drill the hole for the coach screw I'd need a longer drill bit than the standard. Iwas in B&Q today but could not see any long wood drill bits. The coach screws I was thinking for the joists would be 1cm by 20cm, or should I use something different?

4. Phil the Paver

So you have screwed a timber around the edge and now want to fix the joists inbetween, if so I wouldn't be fixing a coach screw through and into the end grain of the joists, you will not get a good fixing that way, I would be looking along the lines of fixing joist hangers onto you edging timber and fixing the joist into those.

Something like this.

johasl.jpg