Decking foundations

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Jimbowiggins, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Jimbowiggins

Jimbowiggins New Member

Hi,
    Planning a 3.3 x 10 m deck, the frame will be 6x2 joists. I plan to rest the frame on concrete pads set just 2-3 cm above ground level. So it will sit almost on the gound. At one end I will build a 5-6 seater L shaped bench with joists, covered in decking. At the other end (in summer months) will be placed an inflatable juccuzi (up to 1950kg). My Q's are
    - can I place a 30cm x 30 cm paving stone on the ground in places to support the frame without digging a small foundation beneath it ?
    - if a foundation is needed, how deep beneath the paving pads, and what combination of hardcore/stones/gravel etc..
    - does the heavy weight of jacuzzi warrant deeper foundations ? Just beneath it or all over ? If so what depth / details.
    I am not a complete newbie re decking, I just want to get this right without over-engineering ......

2. Mr Rusty

Mr Rusty Screwfix Select

Had a quick look online http://www.planhelp.com/public/104.cfm and it seems that the lowest supporting load for bare ground is just under 10 tonnes/square metre, (table here actually shows 2000 pounds/sq foot as it is american) so your 0.3m x 0.3m pad is good for about 900kg. Prob more. Don't know how many pads you have but assuming a few, I think you should be fine without digging out but let's see what the pro's say.

Jimbowiggins likes this.
  3. dwlondon

dwlondon Active Member

unless the top soil was laid down or dug up recently it will be firm enough to take the weight. But slabs need to be well placed if they take some weight. I don't use slabs as it suits me to dig out a spot and set the post into that with concrete.

Jimbowiggins likes this.
  4. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

If the ground is firm I set in concrete breeze blocks too rest the joists on, stronger than paving slabs, but easier than casting concrete.