earthing a gas meter

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Stevego, Jun 28, 2016.

1. Stevego

Stevego New Member

I'm not an electrician but work as an electronic design engineer.

6 months ago National Grid moved our gas meter as unprotected pipe work was under a new extension. This week a new gas meter had to be fitted. The installer mentioned there was no earth bonding or "equipotenial bonding" to the inbound gas supply. Its annoying that National Grid did not perform this as part of their work or at least even mention it needed to be done.

Anyway... I need to get it done. Can I take an earth wire from the electric meter box and run it the 5 meters to the gas pipe and use an earth bonding strap to attach this to the pipe?

I assume this goes on the exit pipe of the meter?

Also what diameter of earth cable is correct to use?

All help greatly appreciated.

2. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

10mm and its fine the way you suggested it. I take it you had an electrician in to wire the extension, its down to him to bond the gas and water pipes, National grid are only responsible up to and including the meter, whatever is fitted after that is nothing to do with them. Was there no bonding on the original pipework?

3. Stevego

Stevego New Member

Thanks for that. The original gas meter box did have an earth bond in there and yes an electrician wired the new extension but the gas meter was Ok at that point.

The new gas pipe does pass by the old meter box. Is there any regulation that it needs to be within a certain distance of the meter or can I just bond it to the existing pipework as it passes the old meter box. That would be a much easier and tidy for me!

4. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

Not sure what the regs are but one electrician told me that it had to be within 500/600mm of the gas meter and before any split or branch in the pipework.

I may be having my gas meter moved too and expecting someone to come over and survey it from NG.