Edge Joining MDF before veneering...

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by T100, Jul 11, 2014.

1. T100

T100 Member

Hi All,

I'd be absolutely delighted if anyone can offer some tips or advice. I'm a complete novice.

I'm looking to create something similar to this floating sideboard.

The floating cabinets aren't a problem however, due to the size of cabinet I'm looking to make, finding a piece of wood the correct size to rest on top is proving difficult.

Therefore I've come to the conclusion that I will have to edge join some MDF and veneer over it for the desired affect.

The dimensions of the piece of wood I need are 4400mm long, 368mm wide, 25.4mm thick.
    1. What is the best method to join the edges? Kreg jig? Biscuit joining?
    2. How many pieces should I join together to make the above length?
    3. Any advice on veneering? Where can I find some good quality American Walnut Veneer? Can I stain Veneer?
    Many thanks for all your help.

T100.

2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Question 3, for veneer look on line for suppliers, ebays a good place though the length may be a problem.

3. R.W_Carpentry

R.W_Carpentry Active Member

I wouldn't bother with making it from bare mdf and veneering yourself, use a veneered mdf board to begin with, get a 19mm and 7mm board to glue together to get your thickness, you can get the top out of one sheet of each, then edge with veneer or a thicker strip of solid walnut.
    Considering you'll struggle to clamp up a length that size, I'd go for biscuits to align the tops and then pocket hole to draw it together.

4. goldenboy

goldenboy Super Member

Not meaning to sound funny or anything but this is not a job for a novice really. I admire your ambition but this would be a real challenge.