Extension

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Rafeeda Maudarbux, Jun 28, 2015.

?

Hi I am doing this extension and i wanted a french door where you can see this exiting door. My buil

1. 2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Rafeeda Maudarbux

Rafeeda Maudarbux New Member

IMG_2365.JPG
    IMG_2366.JPG
    Hi I am doing this extension and i wanted a french door where you can see this exiting door. My builder is insisting that a french door cannot be installed due to the weight of the roof and instead has put in two windows and a small door. I am pretty sure he can put a french door instead of two windows and one door but I am not an expert. Can anyone advise please!

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Have you changed your mind half way through the build???, if your drawings show it to be as is, you will need permission to change the design, but back to original question, yes you could alter it to suit French doors as long as you use the correct lintel above them, after all it the lintel that takes the load, not the doors.

Rafeeda Maudarbux likes this.
  3. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

French door always nicer on to garden etc but you've left it a bit late to change your mind. Quite a bit of work there to make the opening bigger, especially due to the type of brick being laid. You happy to pay for that? Also, it seems that the design is being made up as you go along...you should have had a drawing from the start!

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Never heard anything like that before!

Sack him.

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

Rafeeda Maudarbux likes this.
  5. Rafeeda Maudarbux

No my mind was not changed half way through the build, it was originally going to be a build with a french door, but our builder insisted and built the foundations that you can see above.

6. Phil the Paver