Fair wage?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Jamie K, Nov 22, 2016.

1. Jamie K

Jamie K New Member

Hello everyone
    I am a newly qualified carpenter I finished my apprenticeship 2 months ago and I'm still waiting for my papers to come in the post. I would like to ask peoples opinions of a fair wage for me. I'm not the fastest chippie in the world but i am certainly not the slowest, i am a hard worker too, and i know i can truthfully say that my work is of a good standard. I've got just over 3 years experience in building and although there is plenty more to learn i do know a lot, to the point where I almost always work on my own or have the new apprentice to help me out. On the extension I'm on at the moment i have done everything carpentry wise myself and lots of other bits too like the groundworks. I have my own van and almost all the tools i need. I am on £90 a day which at the moment i can stand but when my papers come i will expect a pay rise which is fair i think? How much should i ask for? The regular subbies we have are always telling me I deserve more. I live in the south east but not london.

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Between 130 & 140 should be the rate to aim for, if not a bit more, but don't be to greedy otherwise you might find yourself unemployed.

3. Jamie K

Jamie K New Member

Cheers mate

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

It all depends what you can do and how good you are. I know carpenters who've ten years experience and they'd dream of 140 a day, but then I live in south wales so rates could be very different. If you've only got 3 years experience in carpentry I'd bite my tongue a while longer, as it's no good expecting a certain wage and the supervisor asks you to cut a hip roof on, or fit double winder stairs and you may or may not be stumped. Doesn't look great then on your own ability, even if you can do other work to a good standard. Having a van and all the kit is a good bargaining chip though.