Ferroli Optima Combi Bolier-Hot water not coming on

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by cmoggy, Aug 11, 2005.

1. cmoggy

cmoggy New Member

Hi, I've got a prob with a Ferroli. on the 'hot water' setting, when the hot tap is turned the boiler doesn't produce hot water. I can get hot if I turn the dial from 'hot water' to 'heating continuous & hot water', but this also means that the heating comes on (not desirable in this weather!). So the water is actually being heated ok, just not remotely by the taps. Any help would be much appreciated. I am an Engineer but not in the plumbing trade, so please assume little knowledge. Ps the pressure is reading just above 1 bar. Many thanks.
    By coincidence my Grandad has the same problem on his Baxi Bahama 100, but his has been unused for at least 12mths now.

2. Agile

Agile Member

As an engineer you should look at the service book which is well written. See how it works and see what detects the hot water demand.

I cannot remember this one. I dont need to bother with books because I just look at a boiler and see how it functions.

On older models there is a diverter valve with a diaphram operated diverter valve. This may have failed IF your model has one! Otherwise there will be a HW flow valve usually a mag reed switch device which will be stuck or otherwise failed.

tell us what was the problem!

Tony Glazier

3. cmoggy

cmoggy New Member

I've downloaded the manual for the Optima 701 at, believe it or not www.ferroli.co.uk and It has the following:-
    1. Combination gas valve, 2. Knob gas valve, 3. Operator gas valve, 4. Modulating regulater (modureg)gas valve 5. Microswitch combination gas valve.
    Are any of these what you describe?

4. cmoggy

cmoggy New Member

hello, just trying to keep this post alive. Can anybody describe a procedure which I can identify whats wrong.
    Many thanks

5. Jimbo

Jimbo Screwfix Select

Can anybody describe a procedure which I can identify
    whats wrong.