Fitting a stable door

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Morty, Dec 2, 2004.

1. Morty

Morty New Member

I'm planning to replace my back door with a hardwood stable type door. Are there any tips and/or procedures to following when fitting these? I'm wondering if using any spacers between the top and bottom sections to give some clearance while fitting is a good idea, what about locks and hinges, where, what type? Does anyone have any experience of these or should they be avoided?

2. dewaltdisney

dewaltdisney New Member

Hi Morty,

I have no experience of a domestic application of a stable door but I can think of a few potential problems. I would think that it would be hard to draft proof so if you are in an exposed position think of this. The frame has to be well pinned in to take the stress of the two doors, especially the upper. Security has to be good as the bottom door is easier to kick in as the lock tends to be in the upper door so good locks on both is a consideration. They tend to make a room dark as the windows, if any, are small.

I could not actually think of any plus points so sorry to be Mr Negative.

On fitting proper stable doors the bottom door top edge and the top door bottom edge are mitred so that when the top door is locked the bottom cannot be opened. I do not think this features on domestic doors. Obviously in a stable the doors open outwards so you may wish to think of this as it strengthens the whole when locked.

Expansion and warpage may cause a problem so seal it well all round. As the top door may be open more than the bottom the doors dry and swell at different rates, well proper stable doors do, so I am not sure of the warm house side and the cold outside affects on the timber.

I feel that relating my comments to a proper stable door might not pick up on more important issues but I hope my comments are of use.

DWD

3. WJOHNM

WJOHNM New Member

hi morty,
    as dwd says,