fitting New light

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by im no electrician, Jul 25, 2015.

1. im no electrician

im no electrician New Member

Hi

Putting up a bathroom light, stupidly didn't pay attention to the previous set up.

The wires coming out of ceiling each with three smaller ones (red, black, green/yellow).

I think all the red go together but don't go into light.
    All earth go together and attach to the light to ground it.
    The black ones I need two going into light together and one going in seperately.....

I've got two black going into neutral (to fitting) and one going into live (into fitting) is this right?

I've tried all three black wires as the single one and had the following results....

1, the double switch turns both my hall light and bathroom light on but dimly(and turns both off)
    2, fuse trips
    3, switch doesn't work and light for bathroom light always on but hall light switch works......

Help.

2. im no electrician

Any help would really be appreciated. Just can't afford an electrician. Just getting so frustrated with it. I've done two other light fittings with no problems.

Thank you in advance

I should also mention the bathroom light and hall light are connected to a double light switch

3. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

You must have wired it correctly when you had scenario 1 but not sure what you mean by 'dimly' referring to the bathroom light.

4. Shoulda woulda coulda situation but smart phones are marvellous things when it comes to replacing electrics like for like, Take a pic of where all the wires went then rewire according to the pic :)

5. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

In series.

You may well have thought you did the other lights correctly, but could have got one of those wrong, and this is impacting on this light.

Photo of behind double switch?
    Do you have a multimeter?

6. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Yup. Makes more sense now. :)

7. im no electrician

Thanks for replies