Fitting new radiator to Plasterboard wall

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by beardyjase, Dec 3, 2016.

1. beardyjase

beardyjase New Member

Hi All,

I'm a DIY novice, but very keen to start doing more myself.

We've recently had our living room decorated and I'm looking to replac our old Double Panel radiator.

He current measurements of the rad are 625x1190, but when it was taken off the wall, one of the brackets became loose and I noticed the hole in the wall had slightly stretched making the current raw plug inside very loose.

My plan was to but a smaller rad in height, say 500 and in theory the new brackets will be lower than the current ones meaning I can drill new holes into the plasterboard wall. However, having read about fitting into the stud etc, I'm assuming if I get a small rad in height then I can obviously drill new holes on same path as current holes, but they will be slightly lower due to reducing the height of the rad?

Just looking for some advice and guidance as to whether this is a good idea and if anyone could recommend anything I may have missed out?

I've looked into getting the valve extensions for the width, but my big concern is the wall brackets.

Cheers!

2. Hi Jase.

Would you prefer to keep the rad, brackets and holes where they are? You can.

You have discovered the biggest issue with fixing into plasterboard; once there's movement - any movement - it'll begin to fail. P'board is astonishingly strong - until this point.

What you need is (a) a p'board fixing that 'locks' into place so's it grips the board from both sides and (b) anything else you can do to prevent movement!