Fixing TV aerial to chimney stack - must it be "lashed"?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by diymostthings, Jan 21, 2008.

1. diymostthings

diymostthings Well-Known Member

Not sure if this is the right forum.
    For my new chimney mounting TV aerial is it permissible to use a wall mounting plate (i.e. the type which rawlbolts into the wall at four points with two "arms" to take the mast clips)instead of the lashing method? Much easier for me to do the former and the existing lashing and bracketlooks very ropey. Its a substantial chimney between two semis but its a big high gain aerial.

Thanks for any views

PTP

2. marc the spark

marc the spark New Member

Hello Pete,

Im no expert on this seem to re-call that drilling into the stack is a big no no as its only 1 brick thick!!!!!

Might cause stabilityn problems with the stack.

Im sure someone can confirm this???

Marc

3. The Dormouse

The Dormouse New Member

Vibrations caused by wind & birds flying on & off will gradually work any bolts or screws loose. Lashings are essential & probably easier to fit than mounting plates.

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Absolutely. Everyone to have two lashes at least(and don't forget the corner protectors).

:)

Mr. Handyandy - really

5. Ghost-1

Ghost-1 Active Member

Or......for real easy fitting.

Get an indoor aerial :)

6. What is the height of the intended mast ?

What size is your aerial, (how many elements) ?

What is the average size of masts used by your neighbours ?

Chimney, Brick or Stone ?

7. kaintheo

kaintheo New Member

Ghost-1,

For even easier fitting, get cable T.V. Ya!

8. diymostthings

What is the height of the intended mast ?

What is the average size of masts used by your
    neighbours ?