Gap at bottom of wall after plastering

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Rystar00, Nov 18, 2015.

1. Rystar00

Rystar00 Member

hi guys,

But of a novice here so just wondered if I could get some advice from someone in the know please!

Is it normal to have these gaps at the bottom of a wall after plastering? I'm worried about fixing skirting and having to pack them out.

Just wanted to check if it was normal before handing over my hard earned cash!

Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Pic is sideways on, but yes its normal not to plaster all the way down.

3. vivaro man

vivaro man Active Member

Rystar, not only is it common it's good practice. Stops a hump/lump building up at the place where the floor and wall meet. Then fixing skirts is really difficult.

4. Rystar00

Rystar00 Member

Great thanks guys. Really appreciate the reassurance!

5. Also prevents carp being picked up from the floor and messing up yer beautiful skimming :).

Hopefully the skim layer is nice and even and level right down to that gap, so that the skirting boards will fit nicely upright when placed tight against the wall. Sometimes the skim layer tapers off as it goes down to the bottom, so the skirting slopes a wee bitty inwards at the bottom - now that is annoying... :(

6. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

One house where I went to had a problem with Silverfish living in the voids behind the skirtings. Had to remove the skirtings to get at them

Now before I put skirtings on, I put a little long life crawling insect powder in and seal it up. A lot of these kill not only silverfish but woodlice and other parasites. Remember to put a little label in there as some of these powders are COSHH

7. Rystar00

Rystar00 Member

Thanks guys. Is it also normal for them to leave a mess (blobs of dried plaster on floor, frames etc)?