Garden fence replacement!

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by g4rfr81, Apr 16, 2017.

1. g4rfr81

g4rfr81 Member

Hi all!
    I'm fairly new to being a home owner and my back garden fence is needing replacing, can I just rip into it and start replacing it or do I have to communicate with neighbours? Didn't know if there's rules and regs with that. We have the "goodside" in our garden does that mean it's ours as such? Also i'm putting a 6ft fence up, it's in Scotland so can be windy at times do I use 8 foot posts and concrete them in 2ft at the bottom? I'm going for a two sided slotted fence to let the wind get through it but how far should I space the posts apart? It's 16 1/2 metres long.

Thanks very much for any help you can give ☺

2. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

Need to check on house deeds to see who the fence belongs to, normally has a 'T' on the boundaries, if its pointing inwards then its' your responsibility.

Did a few panels a couple of years back. Used 9ft slotted concrete posts. Look at using concrete gravel boards, which help keep the panels off the ground and help increase the lifespan of the fence.

Sturdy fence panels (feather edged) are much stronger than the lap panels about double the price.

g4rfr81 likes this.
  3. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Always best to communicate with the neighbours, and as Jitender has mentioned, check that the fence belongs to you first.;). The 'good side' is not strictly an indicator of who owns the fence so can be misleading.

g4rfr81 likes this.
  4. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

Agreed.

The fence between us snd our neighbour blew down and he continued to leave it. It was his fence on both the deeds and by his statements.

After 8 months of hell and him looking into our bedroom (bungalow) through the missing panel we put up our own fence at a huge cost and with police involvement. We have the best side and have lost a chunk of land, but have shut him out.