Gluey substance...

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by sjm91, Jun 6, 2014.

1. sjm91

sjm91 New Member

Hi.

I'm sure you will realise that I am an extreme novice when it comes to painting and decoration... Anyway I stripped the wallpaper off of one of our walls and under it was a glue like white substance (It looks a bit like white paint when its on the wall but when it peels off it's like dried in glue. So my question is, am I able to paint of this? If not how do I go about removing it?

Thanks![​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. wally

wally Screwfix Select

probally a sealer, might have had some dampness at some time.

3. Or possibly a stain blocker try a test patch of paint and see what happens

4. sjm91

sjm91 New Member

What's a stain blocker? It has been the only walls in the house with it on it (it's the hall) I'll try a patch of paint after I've finished stripping it and see how it goes.

Thanks!

5. Possibly some twit has PVA'd the wall.

Sjm, I doubt you'll get a decent paint finish on that wall without a fair bit of work - sorry. I suspect that applying a coat of paint will just create a mess...

I'd suggest a wide-bladed scrapper (sharp edge) held at an angle that won;t dig in to the wall surface, and a steamer lightly applied first. With luck it'll scrape off cleanly - it does look like that in patches, as tho' it hasn't actually soaked in to the wall, but is coating the surface. So you could be lucky.

Make a flask of coffee, put on some awesome paint-stripping music, and git goin'...

6. supertosh

supertosh Member

That's a rough old wall. :)

An on-site decorator would know what it is, and what to do with to it to minimize any issues later on. From here though it could be one of a number of things.

Id suggest you grab yourself a steam stripper, (wall paper stripper) a good scraper and remove it completely from the wall - then give the wall a good even sanding removing loose bits, snots and bumps.