help filling in condition report

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by AlexGoode, Feb 9, 2016.

1. AlexGoode

AlexGoode Member

hi, I am an apprentice learning to do a bit of testing and am wondering if you could please help with a few boxes I am struggling with on a condition report as below.

1.nature of supply parameters- taken at the board, can my prospective fault current be 587A( result given at same time as earth fault loop impedance)

2.details of rcd main switch- difference between current rating( this time is 100A) and the 'fuse/device rating or setting'

3.details of red main switch-cannot find the 'rated time delay'

Thanks in advance

2. Risteard

Risteard Screwfix Select

The result is given in kiloamperes, so you should record 0.59kA

However don't do that because it isn't the Prospective Fault Current (PFC).

Prospective Fault Current is the GREATER of the Prospective Earth Fault Current (PEFC) - which is what you have measured - and the Prospective Short Circuit Current (PSCC).

It is PFC and not PEFC or PSCC which is to be recorded.

The setting relates to an adjustable device.

An S-type RCD to BS EN 61008 should operate within the time frame of 130mS to 500mS.

FatHands likes this.
  3. spinlondon

spinlondon Screwfix Select

There are two currents that you have to measure.
    One is Prospective Earth Fault Current (PEFC), and the other is Prospective Short Circuit Current (PSCC).
    It is the greater of these that you note on the report.
    When conducting the PEFC test, you should have all bonding and earthing conductors re-connected.
    Many main switches are neither RCDs or MCBs. As such they do not trip.
    Some installations (such as where the earthing system is TT), use an up front RCD as the main switch. This is usually 100mA and time delayed.
    You only need to record the details of an RCD main switch, if one is installed.

FatHands likes this.
  4. AlexGoode

AlexGoode Member