HELP PLEASE - WINDOW: how big or small is the gap supposed to be?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by harry1603, May 2, 2015.

1. harry1603

harry1603 New Member

Hi
    I'm in the proces of having a window fittied to our house but all is not good. The gap between the lower brickwork sill and the sill of the window is too big it seems (see my photo). I'm no expert by a long way, but no other house on our estate is like this. Is the window too short? How can this be fixed? There are other issues such as the colour of the sill sandstone matching and the angle of the sill stone...thats another story. Can anyone tell me how wide the gap is supposed to be between the actual UPVC window sill and the exterior brickwork which is a red sandstone sill? I was under the belief that it was minimal where the window sill rested a mm or so from the exterior brickwork with a small bead of mastic between them. If anyone has any suggested too about how to fix the red sandstone angle of sill thatd be excellent too. The bricklayer has done a match both ends and as the buts are off his matcvh means the sill is at an angle. This is all stressing me out enormously. Help please? house1.jpg

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Does the brickie own a level?

Very poor job,excessily long window sill,looks naff,blockwork looks all out of true left hand side, but a face on photo would help,rather than one at a slight angle.
    Window should sit on the sill,I always put down bead of silicone to the top of the sill and the window frame then sits on that.
    There are usually drain holes in the frame, so careful not to block them.

Last edited: May 2, 2015
  3. harry1603

harry1603 New Member