Help with neutral problem

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by john_____1963, Aug 22, 2015.

1. john_____1963

john_____1963 New Member

Help !

I'm not an electrician but I had a very simple electrical job to do.

My mum's garage had a double socket mounted using a plastic mounting box - surface mounted type.
    I've been using this for years with no issues, lawn mower, various drills, sanders, angle grinder, electric cement mixer - but nothing over 2600 watts.

The socket had a crack in the face plate in the corner, so not dangerous, but I thought I'd change it because it didn't look right.

I turned the power off - to the whole house - removed the face plate and because the wires were very short and dirty I was left with no option but to move the whole thing 6 inches to the left. I stripped back the outer insulation VERY carefully, stripped back the wires to suit [nice'n' shiney] and re mounted the box to suit.

All very straightforward so far.

I turned the power back on.

Then, I decided - because I have one- to test the socket using my cheap Aldi socket tester. It's the sort with 3 LED's that light up when all is ok.

And it wasn't ok - it showed no neutral.

I tested some other sockets around the house and all lights lit up so I know the tester is working ok.

So, there are only two options.

1. Somewhere in the 18 inches of wire that I disturbed the wire has now broken.
    or
    2. It never had a neutral. [Unfortunately, because there was no issue with the electrics and I was only doing this for cosmetic reasons I didn't check the socket with my cheapo tester before I did the job :( ]

So, here's my question - Is it possible that there never was a neutral ? ie live and earth connected only.

Thanks

John

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

I doubt it would have worked without a neutral, it wouldn't form a circuit.