Installing New Sink Unit and Worktop

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by Sam, Mar 2, 2006.

1. Sam

Sam Guest

I'm a plumber a do not have much experience of installing sink unit. Usually I just fit the sinks and sort out all the related plumbing.

I'm going to be installing a new sink unit, sink and work top over the weekend for a friend. I will need secure the new unit to the wall, cut-out a hole in the worktop for the sink and secure the worktop to the unit.
    The worktop will also have an overlap at one end for a washing machine which, I assume, will need to be supported.

I'm looking for advice on how to secure the sink unit to the wall, securing the worktop to the sink unit and supporting the part of the worktop that will overhang the washing machine.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thankyou
  2. Jimbo

Jimbo New Member

Sam, I'm only a diyer but...

Screw the base unit to wall using either a couple of angle brackets or some wall unit hanger things.

Screw the worktop to the sink base unit, up through the bar across the top at the front and maybe a couple of angle brackets at the back if no other units. Obviously check the screw lengths!

Support the end with an end panel. Basically piece of white coated chipboard (or to match the units). Should be available from kitchen supplier. A few angle brackets to the worktop and back wall. Don't put a wooden batton along the wall to support the worktop, since this could prevent the appliance pushing all the way back.

In case the floor isn't very flat under the end panel, you can scribe it to the shape of the floor (sorry if telling you how to suck eggs).

- Draw a level line along the wall at the top of the sink unit, ie bottom of worktop, across to the end panel

- Hold un-cut end panel up to wall, ensure level across top