Intergrated Fridge Freezer HELP!

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by evilmoose1987, Jun 2, 2014.

1. evilmoose1987

evilmoose1987 New Member

Hello everyone,

My first post on the forum, I have been undergoing a major refurbishment of my kitchen and it has come to the fun bit of building my units. This is the first time I have fitted a kitchen but I am an aircraft fitter by trade. This is also the first unit Ive come to build so I hope there all not like this.

I have an integrated fridge freezer and I have a few questions

1. Do I leave back board off unit to allow for ventilation ? (Im assuming I have to as it wont fit otherwise)
    2. Does the fridge help square unit up rather than the back board?
    3. I assuming I fit my top shelf on the top of my fridge then screw from the sides into the shelf and screw fridge again into top shelf? There is no pre drilled holes for shelf to go. (Tall unit)

Cheers

Nick aka Evilmoose ;)

2. snezza30

snezza30 Member

Hi Nick,

In answer to your questions......

1. Yes, leave the back out as the fridge freezer needs as much ventilation as possible.

2. Do not rely on the appliance to square up the cabinet. It is worth spending the time to ensure the cabinet is Square, Level and Upright....!!!! Put as many brackets as you feel you need to, to keep the cabinet sides square and parallel to each other.

3. In the instructions/specification for the fridge freezer, it will state the aperture size for your appliance. If it is a tall fridge/freezer, then depending on the manufacturer, the aperture size is likely to be approx 1750mm to 1800mm, but check your own appliance specification as they do vary.
    If you can get away with screwing through the sides into the shelf, and the screws will not be on show, then fine. If they are likely to show, then just fix 3 Right angled brackets to each side of the underside of the shelf and fix through them to hold the shelf in place.