lighting circuit

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by firsttimebuyer, Sep 25, 2016.

1. firsttimebuyer

firsttimebuyer New Member

20160925_101809.jpg Hi all. Under a building notice I am about to wire a new kitchen/dining room. I am an industrial electrician by trade but do not have a mass of experience with domestic lighting. Could somebody please take a look at the following diagram and let me know if it all looks okay and similar the usual way that a domestic installer would set it out . Or can it be made simpler.
    Many thanks

2. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

I'm not concentrating too much this morning (!) but two quick overview points:

1. You should NEVER have the smoke alarms on a switch like that. Anybody could turn it off. They should be wired straight off the lighting circuit. Unless you want to put a keyed switch in there.
    2. The other sswitches, are they supposed to be working as 2-way switches? If so, for which lights? They wont work as 2-way as far as I can see from your diagram.

PS 1mm will be big enough, assuming your light MCB is 6A.

3. firsttimebuyer

Thanks for the quick response. The smoke detectors are fed from permanent live side of the switch so can't be switched off. The top "rose" is supplying main unswitchd feed to the fist 2 gang switch which is carried over to the 3 gang switch then onto the smoke detector. Maybe I've missed something i will look again.
    Thanks.

4. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Concur with Baz - 1.0mm is ample - I use to use 1.5mm for lighting circuits etc, never again as designing the circuit/s appropriately can accommodate the 1mm nicely (no more scrunged wires and stuff)

5. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

6. firsttimebuyer

Yes 2 way. Left hand switch on 2 gang and 3 gang for kitchen light. Right hand switch on 2 gang and centre switch on 3 gang for dining room light. Right hand switch on 3 gang for out door light just 1 way switch for outdoor light.

7. Thomas Winfrey

Thomas Winfrey New Member