Making a router hinge jig.

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Cheburashka, Jul 2, 2014.

1. Cheburashka

Cheburashka Active Member

Has anyone made a jig for cutting hinges into doors? I have some idea of what I might do but, just wondered if anyone had made one.

Don't want to spend hundreds on a Trend one as I'm only doing 5 doors and after that will probably not be used for ages.

2. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

For 5 doors why bother, just use a chisel and skill.:)

3. malkie129

malkie129 Screwfix Select

Yeah, honestly it's not that hard. I'm an engineer,not a chippie, but I fitted 5 new doors without too much trouble if the door fits the frame.....If it don't then get a chippy in. ;)

4. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

Use the old door as a template for marking the hinge position if this helps. If the old doors were fitted badly to begin with, mark the amount you wish to add or subtract. A sharp set of chisels will do.

5. R.W_Carpentry

R.W_Carpentry Active Member

Agreed, for 5 doors it's not worth the time in making a jig ( simple as that may be ) , chisel them out! or if you really want to use a router, mark and freehand them.

6. wuddy

wuddy Member

Cut a strip of 18mm ply or mdf about 60mm cut out for 3 hinges 4mm oversize, fit a stop to give the right width
    Add a screw to the top and wind it out to give correct clearance 2mm for the frame
    Easy to make, Ive made loads in the past
    If your a joiner then its worth the extra time to make one now as you will use it at some point in the future

7. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select