Minimum operating Gas Pressure on boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Nauman Latif, Sep 26, 2015.

1. Nauman Latif

Nauman Latif New Member

Hi

Can you please advise what is the minimum operating gas pressure on the boiler?

I have been told by one of gas safe engineer that if the pressure is below 16.5mb for combination or system boiler, he cannot issue gas safety certificate.

On the other hand I checked some certificates issued by another gas safe engineer for properties where the gas pressure on boiler is ranging 10 -11mb and issued passed certificate.

I am confused please advise on the legal requirements

Thanks

Nauman

2. LPSuk

LPSuk New Member

Depends on which boiler it is and what the manufacturers instructions say.

Nauman Latif likes this.
  3. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

I am no gas engineer but I think it also depends what is on the feed as well - gas cooker, fire etc. As I understand it the danger is one appliance may take all the feed meaning that something like a cooker ring may extinguish under load then when the load eases you have unspent gas leaking into the kitchen ....

May be wrong but that what I was told on one site a few months ago after they had to run a bigger pipe around the house to feed their boiler which had a long twisting path from the meter with a gas fire and 6 ring cooker

Nauman Latif likes this.
  4. You can only have 1mb drop standing pressure from meter to appliance, any more than this indicates incorrect pipe sizing. Working pressure is all down to manufacturers instructions, for example if you have 21mb at the meter a valient or baxi combi can run as low as 14mb. Your gas engineer should be "gas rating" the appliance for the safety certificate for zero governed appliances anyway. Your gas engineer is talking junk, every appliance be it system, combi, conventional will have its own minimum working pressure.

Nauman Latif likes this.
  5. Nauman Latif

Nauman Latif New Member