Multi tool

Discussion in 'Tool Talk' started by echelon101, Apr 6, 2016.

1. echelon101

echelon101 Member

Hello

I am going to be taken up some chipboard floor boards. The boards lip under the skirting, which I am not going to cut. My plan is to cut the chipboard up to the skirting using a multi tool and the fix a batton. I will also use the multi tool to take out the lips of some of the boards to lift them.

I have gone down the multi tool route because: it can cut chipboard well, it can get up close to the skirting, it can do other things. I don't particularly want to buy a circular saw although I appreciate it may be easier for the specific task.

I have looked around the forum, my limit is £100 (including bits to do the job). I don't mind corded or cordless.

The Fein 250 looks good at £110, but the Dewalt and Bosch GOP are £100 on the website. I need to do the job on the 24rd. I am a DIYer not a professional, is it worth going downmarket to Erbauer/Workx/Energer/Titan ?

Thanks for reading this far, look forward to your response.

2. malkie129

malkie129 Screwfix Select

I really haven't got a clue about multi-tools,but if you are working at home,then I would go for corded. 240v kit is much cheaper than cordless,as you don't have to pay for batteries & chargers. If you have mains power then use it. :):)

3. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

If you can afford the Fein corded then go for it.Buy replacement blades off fleabay tho. Sexton are a fraction of the price

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

:eek::p

It's Saxton blades, Chips.:)

http://www.saxtonblades.co.uk/

FEIN FMT 250 is very good, has 3 years warrenty, but it doesn't have the QuickIN rapid change system you find on FEIN FMM 350Q model, instead it uses a allen key same as the Bosch GOP, which is what I have, both excellent tools.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  5. KIAB

KIAB Super Member