my first job

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Goro, May 2, 2015.

1. Goro

Goro New Member

Hi everyone and thanks for looking into this,

a friend of mine who is not really bother with the quality of the job asked me to do his Bathroom (Wall tiling)
    now he is aware that i am not a professional and i only did it a couple of time for friends as a favor....
    out of his kindness and to encourage me his offering what ever it would cost him if he hired a professional

would you guys be able to help me to estimate this job please (bathroom is 3m x 2m , just walls no old tiles to rib off.

Regards

2. No idea.

But unless you do a completely professional job in all respects, then how could you possibly accept the same payment a professional would expect?

3. tom.plum

tom.plum Screwfix Select

the tiler I use charges £25 per square meter and he's a first class tiler, so he'd charge £150 for your job and it would take him half a day,

4. Gatt

Gatt Active Member

Take your time, do your very best , and you might get more work through this one job . So don't think too much about the money just now . It'll be great experience for you and you'll get faster in the future. With a bit of luck, you'll also get the £150. Hope it goes well for you Goro .

5. Ghost-1

Ghost-1 Active Member

Also, you would be better off using a slow setting adhesive, but that would mean going back the following day to grout.

So it'll be a day and a half, money wise. That bits up to you.

Gatt likes this.
  6. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

Going rate for a pro in Liverpool is anywhere from £16-£20 per square metre with the tiler supplying the Adhesive. A bathroom 3mx 2m assuming a ceiling height of 2.4m comes in at 24sq/m so here a pro would charge between £384 and £480. But if you're only starting out I wouldn't dare charge a mate anywhere near that.

7. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select