My first project - Go easy on me LoL

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by mafalus, Jan 11, 2017.

1. mafalus

mafalus Member

Hi Everyone
    I just completed my first project (a workbench) and would greatly appreciate some advice on the finish for it. The frame is pine wood the remainder is MDF. I have trawled the web and the forums here but I am none the wiser. Can anyone offer any advice on the best finish, was thinking of perhaps a clear finish.

Many thanks

MyFirstProject.jpg

2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Think it may look good just to use an opaque acrylic satin (Semi Gloss) paint on the frame and a clear sealer on the cupboard, drawer and bench top.

3. mafalus

mafalus Member

Thanks Astramax, as I am a novice to paint can you recommend any particular ones please, would be greatly appreciated

4. Thats good, especially for a 1st project.

Is it being used indoors (garage etc) or exposed at all?

Is the floor or the air damp or likely to get wet?

Is it on show and seen often?

Likely to be used a lot and take lots of knocks and abuse, or exposed to oil or anything often?

5. mafalus

mafalus Member

Hi Jacktrades

Thanks for the compliment, in answer to your questions:
    Is it being used indoors (garage etc) or exposed at all? - In a garage only and not exposed
    Is the floor or the air damp or likely to get wet? - Air is not damp and not exposed and will not get wet
    Is it on show and seen often? No, only seen by me and my mates

6. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Dulux Diamond(waterbased) eggshell would be a good choice as would Dulux Diamond clear floor varnish (nice and tough), Seal the knots and apply a primer to the frame, would use
    Zinsser BIN as this seals knots and would also prime the timber. The frame looks as if its treated timber?

7. JOMEL

JOMEL Screwfix Select

Hi

Well done.
    Feel proud , YOU DID IT.
    Its great when you get a project up and running.
    Maybe show the kids what daddy did in years to come.