New shower + circuit to existing consumer unit

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by mobucl, Oct 9, 2015.

Tags:
  1. mobucl

mobucl New Member

Hi All,

We have installed a 9.5 kw shower into a bathroom which did not previously have a shower. We have run a 6mm cable to the consumer unit following the recommendations of the manufacturer (<20 metres length cable can use 6mm). Problem is we have an old consumer unit with flick switch fuses but no RCDs. It also doesn't have any additional spare connections (sorry im not an expert so i hope that description makes sense).
    Therefore i bought something similar to this:

http://www.screwfix.com/p/shower-ki...l&gclid=CLjV-veOtcgCFQvhGwodZkUNnQ&kpid=89514

I was hoping that an electrician can connect this to the mains supply so the new circuit is RCD protected whilst the other circuits remain unchanged HOWEVER i have now been told by an electrician that to be part P compliant the addition of a new circuit means ALL the circuits must be upgraded i.e. a whole new consumer unit. Whilst i appreciate that this would be a better solution in the long term we cant afford the additional cost at the moment (£350 was the quote) - and im also concerned that there will be problems with the wiring to the older circuits that will cause the RCDs to flip meaning extra cost!

Can someone please tell me if the electrician is correct or can i get the separate RCD unit installed??

Thanks a lot

Matt

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

That electrician is talking rubbish Matt!
    The unit you have is ok but you will need to replace the 50 amp mcb with a 40 amp one in view of your 6.0
    mm cable. It will need to be connected into the tails before your existing consumer unit using a Henley block. This work is notifiable to BC under part P rules so needs to be done by a competent and registered person.

FatHands likes this.
  3. mobucl

mobucl New Member